Which circle of Hell do graffiti artists get sent to??

I am a middle-aged woman trapped inside a twenty-something’s body. I have suspected this for a while, and this was confirmed to me last year when I found myself bragging about my new boiler to my parents. So just imagine how excited I was when, upon returning home last Wednesday night, I discovered that our estate agents had installed a new gate in our back yard. I’ve never had an outdoors space of my own before and so I did get quite giddy about it when we first moved in. Slightly too giddy, perhaps, since I fell down the steps (TWICE) and broke my foot because of the excitement. Anyway, that’s by the by… back to the gate…

Basically this gate is BEGGING to be painted. I’ve picked out the colour and everything, but I want to go all-out and have an Inferno style ‘lasciate ogni speranza voi ch’entrate’ sign installed on it. I did a bit of research on this and found THIS —>

Which set me on a mission to discover (without adding to, I might add…) Dante-inspired graffiti. I *really* like graffiti when it’s done right. I don’t know if any of you saw the graffiti on the subway near Morrison’s in town recently. It looked like a man tucked up in bed and I loved it. I don’t condone graffiti (and the views expressed in this blog are entirely my own and do not in any way reflect the views of The University of Leeds or the Leeds Centre for Dante Studies [I’ve always wanted to write that…])  but I much prefer to see painted walls than boring ones.

Take a look at some of this Dante graffiti and just check out how “street” he is:



Please don’t go out and spray Dante onto the walls of Leeds University. But if you do see any that other people have done please take a picture and email it to me!

Sarah x

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

