Living Legend in Leeds.

Whilst looking for inspirational quotes this morning to kick-start my writing binge (and by “looking for inspirational quotes” I mean looking at my brother’s holiday photos on Facebook), I came across a piece of quite exciting information, thanks to the Leeds Centre for Dante Studies Facebook page.

Apparently, living Dante-legend Zygmunt Baranski is coming to Leeds to undertake a visiting professorship starting next week, and is going to be teaching bits of the Vita Nuova and Paradiso. I was initially a bit (a lot) excited about this news, because Prof. Baranski is a little bit like a mythical creature to me: his name gets batted around so much in terms of Dante studies, plus approximately 70% of the entries of my entire MA dissertation bibliography were works written/edited by Zyg himself. When the initial excitement had passed, it suddenly dawned on me that I’m going to probably meet Z.B. in the coming weeks and months, which means that I’m going to have to talk about clever things, which means that I’m going to have to KNOW about clever things, which means that I should probably spend a lot less time looking at Facebook photos of drunken boys in Prague and more time reading about clever things. ARGH! You all might want to consider doing the same.

Sx

p.s. You can read the full article on the visiting prof-ship HERE

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

