Welcome on board!

Last week the interviews took place to fill the two post-doctoral positions for Matthew and Claire’s joint project with the University of Warwick – Dante and Late Medieval Florence: Theology in Poetry, Practice and Society. I was lucky enough to sit in on the presentations for all five shortlisted candidates (they were all brilliant – I couldn’t have called it and did not envy Claire, Simon or Matthew for having to make that decision) and was thrilled to find out that Nicolò Maldina got the position in Leeds, and that our very own Anna Pegoretti was appointed the post-doc position at Warwick.Congratulations to you both! Whilst I’m really sad Anna will be leaving us for pastures new, I’m really excited about Nicolò’s appointment and look forward to working with him over the next couple of years.

Just a little snippet of the project launch last week: after a brilliant introduction to what promises to be a really amazing and valuable study into Dante in the Middle Ages, and a really entertaining quodlibet performance by the Dean and Pro-Dean, we all congretated in LHRI room 3 for wine and crisps. It was here that I stumbled upon the following:

ImageImage

Well if it isn’t my very own Dantean heart! Luckily I was surrounded by fellow geeks who could appreciate the poetry behind such a delight of a cheese and onion crisp. One of the candidates (who will forever be a hero in my eyes) actually recited the whole of the poem from Vita Nuova III wherein Dante dreams that Beatrice eats his heart. Then, by eating the crisp, I felt I had actually become Beatrice. If that’s not an omen that this project is going to be amazing, then I don’t know what is.

Sx

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

