Dante wishes you luck in your exams.

Happy New Year, fellow dantisti!

I’m sure you’re all knee-deep in revision and essay-writing, so I thought I’d liven up your dark Tuesday afternoon by bringing you a bit of love from our favourite poet.

My new year’s resolution – aside from making myself like olives and stopping biting my nails – was to  make a valiant effort to write my thesis before my funding runs out. So far, this is going well (the writing bit, not the olive bit, unfortunately…) and I have spent two full days in the cupboard under my stairs (which I handily transformed into an “office” – seriously though, it’s tiny) knocking out thousands of words about medieval stuff.  Today’s task was to tackle Dante. This morning I was all like “OH YEAH, I CAN TOTALLY SUM UP DANTE IN A PAGE AND A HALF” and now, 2,000 words later, I’m a little less optimistic about my synthesising abilities. I’m not very confident about my Commedia knowledge, so have made friends with Google in a big way today, and this has proved most useful in my search for enlightenment.

The Internet is home to a myriad of wonderful things, and quite a few of these popped up during my searches. One of the not-so-wonderful things that I stumbled across was an article from the Telegraph [13/05/12], claiming that the Comedy is ‘offensive and should be banned’. I was quite taken aback by this suggestion and read on to discover that Valentina Sereni of human rights organisation Gherush 92, claimed that ‘Schoolchildren and university students who studied the work lacked “the filters” to appreciate its historical context and were being fed a poisonous diet of anti-Semitism and racism’. I’m not sure about you, but I think my anti-Semitic filters are pretty tip-top…

Anyway, here is a nice picture of Dante holding a book. Why not mentally project your revision notes onto the page and pass your exams with flying colours?

dantefresco

In bocca al lupo!

S x

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

